Cali Girl

Feathered hair maxi sweaters,         Chinese jump ropes and balls that tethered. 

Rick James in the basement,       Funkadelic on deck.           

San Francisco mornings                             and LA sunsets.

101 Holloway on the 2nd floor.   Peppermint Patty knocking at the door.

She didn’t like me because I was black but loved me for the same. 

Saturday morning cartoons,                     Don Cornelius and Soul train.

Oakland on Saturdays,                               Lake Merritt was my shit.       

 Hanging beads in the doorway,            sugar on my grits.

Fisherman wharf, roller skating rinks and cable cars.                                                  Venice beach, Melrose Ave and the Hollywood walks of stars. 

Richmond summers and Daly City fog.  Hollywood swinging in the LA smog. 

I’m a Bay Area Baby and an LA Lady.      I’m Cali organically grown.                         No matter where I spread my wings.           I will always fly back home.

Leave a Reply

