Cold Piece of Work

They say the gods make hail rain, earthquakes and snow but I’m a cold piece of work. I can cause your planetary alignment to shift with a simple movement of my hips.

Fuck that I can turn your world upside down if I so choose.

I don’t need your “mami this” and “baby that”. I can cop my own Manolo’s and Baby Phat

Yeah, Nigga it’s just like that. Cuz I’m a cold piece of work.

When I step into a room, my cypher tends to consume. It’s not my choice but  if I chose my shit would overtake you.

You think I’m weak because  I speak with an unforked tongue, but when I spit this shit, I’ll split that shit and for my words you will have none.  Cuz I’m a cold piece of work.

Everything is on a common level when I come at you and dispute you. But you’re like Satan I bear the cross- spin your head and rebuke you.

And when I spit fire my demeanor is ice because like that I ‘m nice..

I’m a cold piece of work.

Dedicated and written for the Coldest piece of work I know..Monique Grace. For over 25 years of friendship , love and sisterhood.  (August 2004)

 

Leave a Reply

