Quick Quiche

Once I found a simple recipe to make Quiche, I simplified it because that’s how I roll.  So this recipe is gonna be real easy and the fun part is you can really play around with this recipe and make it your own. 

 Preheat oven @350 degrees.

 INGREDIENTS:

(1) one deep dish pie shell (they normally come in packs of two, so just repeat this recipe if you want to fill more shells).

FILLER:

(4) four eggs

3/4 cup of half and half 

(1) one tsp of nutmeg (optional but it gives it a very savory taste)

Season to taste.

 FILLER INGREDIENTS: (This is where you can get really creative. I really love Spinach in my Quiche and I am a fan of turkey bacon.   I have tried though mushrooms and onions and plan on using other flavors as well.)

 4-6 slices of turkey bacon.  Cut in small pieces.  (Turkey bacon is usually pre cooked but I suggest you do some pan browning or perhaps make it a little crispy).

 (1) One handful of fresh clean spinach (I know that’s a moronic way to measure the spinach but believe me it works).

 1/3 cup of finely chopped yellow or white onion. (Yellow onion has a sweeter taste)

 1/2 cup of shredded cheddar cheese.

 Instructions:

 Filler: Put all of the filler ingredients into one bowl and whisk together.  Set filler aside to prepare filler ingredients.

 I normally brown the onions and bacon together because it brings out that BA-CONY flavor that is not often found in turkey bacon.

 Take half of the cheese, sprinkle evenly at the bottom of the pie shell.  Layer your spinach, bacon and onions evenly and then pour filler to cover ingredients.

 Place filled pie shells on a cookie sheet (in case of spillage) and place it in oven.  Bake for 35 -40 minutes until golden brown. Checking to see if a Quiche is cooked is the same as checking a cake.  PUT A FORK IN IT.. if it comes out clean them muah your masterpiece is almost done.  The final step is to take  the remainder of cheese and sprinkle on top of cooked Quiche and place it back in oven until cheese melts.. 

 Well there you have it my friends.. I hope you enjoy.  Please feel free to experiment with your own flavors or to improve upon this one..Let me know if you tried it. I have a pretty big brood in my house so I make as many as 3 to 4 pies at a time.

Leave a Reply

