Easy Chinese Dumpling Soup (Wonton Soup)

I recently had the most unusual craving for wonton soup but the desire not to order take out outweighed the craving.  But 

after several days the craving was still lingering and by this time I had talked about it so much, everyone else in the house now craved it too.  So I decided to make some.  I researched a few recipes that required me to actual make the chinese dumplings myself which seemed like a lot of work and I was in need of a quick fix.  So I took a short cut.. which is typical of a Gen Xer like myself.. So I am going to share it with you. 

 Ingredients:

1 bunch of Bok choy (which was a lot cheaper than I thought it would be.. I mean a lot)

2-14.5 oz cans of chicken broth 

1 bag of ready-made chinese dumplings (I found some shrimp/chicken dumplings in my grocery store for less than $4)

2 TBS of Sesame Oil 

2 TBS of Soy Sauce

Chopped scallions (or green onions) for garnish at the end.

 Remove the Bok choy leaves from the root (root is not edible),  If you don’t know how that is done.. This video below is pretty helpful.

Once that is done boil the Bok choy and the pre-made dumplings in the chicken broth until dumplings are tender and the Bok choy has wilted. Turn it down to a low simmer and then add soy sauce and sesame oil.  (I will be honest, Sesame oil can be a dominating taste so add it accordingly)  I didn’t add the full 2 TBS because the Bok choy was so good without it.  Add a little black pepper and garnish with green onions once you place in a bowl.

 I had an extra bag of dumplings that I deep-fried along with some delicious egg rolls I found in my frozen grocer section to make the meal complete.  My family loved it.. I took about as long as it would for delivery to arrive and it was so much cheaper and filling..

 

Leave a Reply

